#ocTEL Week 1 Resources

So, the course material and objectives for Week 1 are finally up on the site – I’ve been watching impatiently for them to appear since yesterday. I must be enjoying the course 😉

Here they are: This week we’re looking at concepts and strategies for the effective use of Learning Technology – approaches that can benefit learners and enable you to keep pace with innovation. If you are new to the theories underpinning TEL, this may be a chance to ‘ground’ yourself within the learning landscape by exploring the examples in this week’s resources. If you are not new to this it is an opportunity to explore strategies for Learning Technology, the approaches they take and the outcomes they achieve.

 This week’s aims

By the end of this week, we aim for you to:

  1. review a range of concepts and approaches relevant to TEL (activity 1.3, explorer activities)
  2. start reflecting on how different approaches could be applied with your learners or to your own learning (activity 1.1)
  3. reflect on a strategy relevant to your own context (activity 1.2 and webinar)

I will be using the blog much as I did last week as a place to “cluster” the information and resources I pick up and also to doucment my contributions to some of the forums and discussion groups. Not sure how much time I will be able to put in this week as work is beckoning a bit more insistently that it did last week.

The first resource I have been provided this week, and which I will be looking into in some detail as soon as I have 10 minutes, kindly came from Sue. She provided a link to a presentation she did for a workshop on an introduction to Twitter: http://www.slideshare.net/suebeckingham/getting-started-with-twitter-23557615

It seems to be exactly what I have been looking for.

I like this concept map tweeted by Ed l Bremner:

Learning Theory

Some nice resources this morning that have been tweeted, as most things seem to be here in ocTEL land:

Three working models to integrate technology in your teaching : http://www.educatorstechnology.com/2014/05/three-working-models-to-integrate.html

Incorporating the Maslow model. Addressing Maslow’s hierarchy of needs with technology: http://usergeneratededucation.wordpress.com/2014/03/12/addressing-maslows-hierachy-of-needs-with-technology/

The flipped classroom: a full picture: http://usergeneratededucation.wordpress.com/2011/06/13/the-flipped-classroom-model-a-full-picture/

The last two resources come from the blog of Jackie Gerstein which is full of interesting articles. I particularly like this one about empathy as a top skill for educators:  http://usergeneratededucation.wordpress.com/author/jackiegerstein/

I have just caught up with yesterday’s webinair which I had to miss because of work. Fortunately, today is a bank holiday but the lousy weather is keeping me away from the garden and giving me a bit of time to spend on the course. The full webinair entitled “Strategies For Learning Technology” is here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aHEeB4VKjog

Here are some excerpts of what I took to be the main points:

Pyramid

Useful model

Drivers for change

22 drivers for change

SAMR model

Technologies in context

The 3 Es aooriach

Summary

Here are a few things I came across yesterday. The first is a webinair presentation by Stephen Downes at ocTEL 2013 about “The Cultures of Learning” which I found interesting. He certainly has an off-beat presentation style that will either seduce you or irritate you: http://www.downes.ca/me/index.htm

Slack a (nother !) new tool : http://venturebeat.com/2014/05/08/5-reasons-slack-will-change-the-workplace/

To open a free  account:  https://slack.com/

Slack only makes sense for working in groups, not for individual use. I am hoping to join a group being set up by one of the participants on #ocTEL to try it out. Perhaps if I do this with someone who knows what he’s doing I’ll be able to get to grips with it quite quickly. Watch this space 😉

One thought on “#ocTEL Week 1 Resources

  1. Brilliant presentation, very straightforward, but it’s a bit more complicated than I thought … oh well

Leave a Reply

